The temple of Aesclepius

Many years ago before I went to University, I went for a trip round Greece to look at as many ancient sites as I could. This was done on the cheap. I stayed at youth hostels or sometimes I slept under the stars. One of the places I visited was the temple of Asclepius at Epidaurus. That night I found a secluded spot to lay my sleeping bag right next to the temple. Now if you sleep in the temple, then you are supposed to be cured of any ailment. Quite the opposite happened to me. I went to sleep a healthy person and woke up with a violent fever. Maybe I’d omitted some sacrifice and may have owed him some sort of poultry.

If I returned and did the same thing I hope something like this would happen to me.

Ἡραιεὺς Μυτιληναῖος· οὗτος οὐκ εἶχε ἐν τᾶι κεφαλᾶι τρίχας, ἐν δὲ τῶι γεν̣είωι παμπόλλας. αἰσχυνόμενος δὲ̣ [ὡς] καταγελάμενος ὑπ[ὸ] τῶν ἄλλων ἐνεκάθευδε. τὸν δὲ ὁ θεὸς χρίσας φαρμάκωι τὰν κεφαλὰν ἐπόησε τρίχας ἔχειν.

Heraieus of Mytilene. He had no hair on his head but lots on his chin. Being ashamed and laughed at by everyone else, he slept in the temple. The god anointing his head with a drug made him have have hair.

From Miracles of Epidaurus

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

