Love’s anguish

From a garden of Greek verses edited by Francis Lincoln

Γλύκεια μᾶτερ, οὔ τοι δύναμαι κρέκην τὸν ἴστον,
πόθῳ δάμεισα παῖδος βραδίναν δἰ Ἀφρόδιταν.

Sappho

Mother, I cannot mind my wheel;
My fingers ache, my lips are dry:
O, if you felt the pain I feel!
But O, who ever felt as I?

No longer could I doubt him true;
All other men may use deceit;
He always said my eyes were blue,
And often swore my lips were sweet.

Walter Savage Landor 1775-1864

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love’s anguish

  1. There are quite a few translating liberties taken here, right? Is this an Edith Hamilton sort of translation?

    Like

  2. platosparks says:

    I have to admit that I had never heard of Edith Hamilton . I looked her up on Wikipaedia and I can see there are some similarities between her and Landor.

    Like

  3. Edith H is the best writer on Mythology since Ovid. One of my favorite writers of all time. Her translation of Trojan Women (by Euripides – 1971) was basically the script used for the movie with Katherine Hepburn and Vanessa Redgrave, of the same name. Check her out sometime. “Mythology” is her most known book, but “The Greek Way” is the best one.

    I will have to check out other stuff by your guy, if he is close to Hamilton, he cannot be that bad. Funny though, how little things creep into translations or are omitted.

    Like

  4. Whoops, the movie wad made in 1971, the Euripedian play is from 415 BCE…

    Like

Leave a Reply

