Mangling Greek

Πρέσβυς: ἄγε δὴ σὺ βασιλεὺς ἅττα σ᾽ ἀπέπεμψεν φράσον
λέξοντ᾽ Ἀθηναίοισιν ὦ Ψευδαρτάβα.

Ψευδαρτάβας: ἰαρταμὰν ἐξάρξαν ἀπισσόνα σάτρα.

Πρέσβυς: ξυνήκαθ᾽ ὃ λέγει;

Δικαιόπολις: μὰ τὸν Ἀπόλλω ‘γὼ μὲν οὔ.

Πρέσβυς: πέμψειν βασιλέα φησὶν ὑμῖν χρυσίον.
λέγε δὴ σὺ μεῖζον καὶ σαφῶς τὸ χρυσίον.

Ψευδαρτάβας: οὐ λῆψι χρῦσο χαυνόπρωκτ᾽ Ἰαοναῦ.

Ambassador: Come tell the Athenians what the king sent you here for.
Pseudartabas : Iartaman exarxan apissona astra
Ambassador: Do you understand what he is saying?
Dikaiopolis: No I don’t, by Apollo.
Ambassador: He says the king will send you some gold. Now you tell us about the gold more loudly and clearly.
Pseudartabas: No takey goldy, big asshole Ionian.

Aristoph. Ach. 100

I have been to Greece quite a few times and all the guidebooks tell you how delighted the locals will be if you try to speak their language. I have a few words of modern Greek and combined with a few words of Ancient Greek, the locals should have been over the moon whenever I spoke to them. I can categorically state that the guidebooks are completely wrong. As soon as I start speaking, they interrupt and talk to me in English. Whenever I manage to get more than a few words out I realise it is because I am speaking to a baffled Italian or Bulgarian tourist to whom I probably just seem mad. It seems that the ancient Greeks also didn’t like foreigners mangling their language as the parody of the Persian speaking Greek above shows.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

